The Clark Award

 Journal of Theta Alpha Kappa

                                                            Sponsored by 

                                                     THETA ALPHA KAPPA


The National Board of Directors of TAK invites entries for the 2018 Albert Clark Award, given annually to one undergraduate and one graduate student for the best papers in religious studies or theology, as judged by a panel established by the board.  Each competition winner in each category (undergraduate and graduate) will receive a $500 award and the runner-up, $250, The winning essays will be published in the Journal of Theta Alpha Kappa.  Other excellent essays submitted for the competition will be chosen to appear in the Journal.

Competition guidelines: The competition is open to current students at the undergraduate or graduate level who satisfy one of these conditions: a) currently enrolled in or having graduated from a school with a TAK chapter, provided that the paper was written while attending that school and submitted for the competition within 12 months after graduation; b) currently in a school that does not have a TAK chapter, provided that the student was inducted in a chapter of TAK at a school previously attended. Papers may be submitted through TAK chapter moderators or independently.  A cover letter should indicate the name of the entrant, the school, status as undergraduate or graduate, permanent mailing address, and mailing addresses to be used at the time of submission and after January 2018.

-        Essays in religious studies and in all fields of theology are welcome.

-    Only one essay per author will be considered, and the essay may not be considered for publication elsewhere during the duration of the competition.

-        All essays submitted will be considered both for the Albert Clark Award and for publication in the Journal.

-     Papers should be double-spaced and should not exceed 20 pages, including endnotes, when typed in a 12-point font size.  Shorter papers are acceptable.

-        The cover letter should include the author's name, mailing address, email address, and school name. The manuscript must be free of any information that may identify the author and may not contain comments by previous readers. 

-          A manual of style should be followed, preferably the Chicago Manual of Style.

-          Deadline for submission is January 29, 2018.

-          Winners will be chosen and notified of the judges' decisions in March 2018. 

Send submissions electronically to:

Dr.Bernadette McNary-Zak, JTAK Editor
Rhodes College

2000 North Parkway
Memphis, TN 38112

Clark Awards Previous Winners List:

Best Undergraduate Essay   Best Graduate Essay         
Zachary Lewis Ludwig
  Loyola University Chicago
2017 Sara Ann Swenson
  Syracuse University
Chance Bonar
  St. Olaf College
2016 Timothy Gervais
  Loyola University Maryland
Elenore Leonard
   Creighton University
2015 Danny Yencich
    Illff School of Theology/U. of Denver
Denise Mason
   Notre Dame of Maryland
2014 Catherine Orsborn
   Illiff School of Theology
Rina Sadun
   Pomona College
2013 Patrick D. Bowen
   University of Denver-Illiff School of
Kiva Shiri Nice-Webb
   Elon University
2012 Jonathan Loar
   Emory University
Stephanie Brenzel
   Rhodes College
2011 William Myatt
   Loyola University Chicago
Josh Muglar
   Oklahoma Baptist University
2010 Michael J. Altman
   Emory University
Jessica Coblentz
   Syracuse University
2009 Carson Webb
   Santa Clara University
Anna Zaros
   The Catholic University of America
2008 Miles Adam Park
   Missouri State University
Erin Culp
   Elon University
2007 Paul Buehler
   Loyola University, New Orleans
Jeffrey Durkin
   Georgetown University
2006 Carly Crouch
   Oxford University
Joe Lencioni
   Gustavus Adolphus College
2005 Nada Unus
   Harvard Divinity School
J. Patrick Hornbeck II
   Georgetown University
2004 Amy Peeler
   Princeton Theological Seminary
Meaghann Weniger
   Creighton University
2003 Patricia Lipperini
   LaSalle University

David Odorisio
   LaSalle University

2002 Erin E. Mountz
   University of Wisconsin-Madison